the-lighthouse-awardMy little blog has been nominated for a Lighthouse Award and I am really touched to receive this recognition from another blogger.  I only started this blog a couple of months ago, mainly to try to document the journey I am on as I explore the female part of me that I suppressed for so many years.  I never really expected anyone to read it, let alone like it or find it useful, so it really means a great deal to be honoured in this way.

I owe this honour to Valerie South, writer of the lovely blog So Very Deep (In The Closet).  Val’s blog is one that I read avidly every time she puts up a new post, and if you haven’t read it yet I would encourage you to take a look at it.  Val is another crossdresser, similar to me in some ways, but different in many others – we aren’t all the same you know!  The thing that I like most about her blog is that unlike mine, which is pretty much a blow-by-blow account of what I have been up to, hers is much more thoughtful and her insights into what makes girls like us tick are most enlightening.  She is also very funny.  Thanks Val, the praise of the praiseworthy is a great honour.

So as a Lighthouse Award nominee, my job now is to nominate other blogs that “bring light to a dark world”.  There are many strong candidates for this, but the two I have settled on are very different from each other.  The first is the blog that inspired me to start one of my own, I May Be Amy, written by another TG girl, Amy, and occasionally her wife.  Her story is very different to mine, and makes for very interesting reading.  Amy’s wife also contributes posts to the blog, and she brings a new perspective to the story.  I love reading the blog, and it really is a tale of finding a light in dark times, so is an obvious candidate for a Lighthouse Award.

The other blog I am nominating is The Smile Journal, written by Cheryl Walker, and unlike my first nomination, it’s got nothing to do with TG issues, Cheryl is a student spending a year in Germany as a language assistant, and while there she has embarked upon an original and heartwarming project.  We have all experienced situations where we see strangers sitting smiling happily to themselves and wondered what was on their minds. Well Cheryl actually goes up to them and asks.  Then she takes their picture and writes a little pen portrait of that person.  It is an unusual concept, but I think it amounts to a beautiful celebration of people in all their weird and wonderful ways.  In such a cynical world where we avoid making eye contact with strangers, Cheryl’s blog is a real beacon of positivity, and another worthy nominee.

The other thing I have to do as a recipient of this nomination is to list three ways that I like to help other people.  I really don’t want to do this because I hate bigging myself up but rules are rules so here goes…

1. A Good Friend.  I don’t have huge numbers of close friends, but for those I do have I hope that I am a loyal and trusted friend, offering sympathy, empathy and encouragement as appropriate – as well as a kick up the bum when needed!

2. A Good Listener.  I hope.  Probably tied in to the first one.  Despite my sometimes lengthy blog post, I am not one of life’s natural chatterboxes, but I think I’m pretty good at the other half of conversations.  If you have something to get off your chest, I will lend a willing and sympathetic ear.

3. Appropriate Advice.  I like helping people, and if there is something I can do either practically or with advice, I will do it.  What I will not do is tell you that awful looking coat you just bought is gorgeous.  If I tell you something, I mean it.

Here are the full rules of the Lighthouse Award

  1. Display the Award certificate on your blog.
  2. Write a post and link back to the blogger that nominated you.
  3. Inform your nominees of their award nominations
  4. Share three ways that you like to help other people.
  5. There is no limit to the number of people that you can nominate.
  6. HAVE FUN!!!

Well that’s you’re lot from me.  Thanks again to Val for the nomination, it really does mean a lot to be appreciated.

Kirsty

